EM Users Board

Pennington County Emergency Management was created in 1962 and formally known as Civil Defense. The City of Rapid City and Pennington County entered into an agreement to form a joint, local organization to provide emergency and disaster services in 1978. This is known as the Joint Powers Agreement. The organization is managed by an Emergency Management Users Board composed of seven (7) members - Pennington County Sheriff, Rapid City Chief of Police,  Rapid City Fire Chief, Pennington County Commissioner, Rapid City Alderman, Pennington County Fire Service Board member, and South Dakota National Guard Director of Military Support. EM Users Board meetings take place quarterly.


EMUB Meeting Information

Next EMUB Meeting - Friday, July 12, 2024 | 9:00 AM*
Agenda will be available prior to meeting date.
*The Pennington County Administration is closed to the public on Fridays. 
Members of the public seeking access to the meeting, to discuss or express concerns to the EM Users Board on policies and/or issues affecting RC-PC Emergency Management and its function, are advised to call 605-394-2185 prior to 8:45 AM the day of the meeting, for building access to attend.